Race of Germany

Race of Germany
logo Race of Germany

Race of Germany - 14-16/05/2015

Germany returns to the WTCC calendar for the first time since 2011 when the races were held at Oschersleben. It’s fair to say that a somewhat bigger challenge awaits this year’s WTCC field… The drivers will be taking on the legendary Nürburgring Nordschleife, where they will race on a 25-kilometre version of the daunting track, which includes the grand prix circuit as well as the famous Nordschleife loop. For what it’s worth, the last WTCC races in Germany were won by Yvan Muller (Chevrolet) and local ace Franz Engstler (BMW) – runaway winner of last year’s Yokohama Drivers’ Trophy.



1: The original Nordschleife opened in 1927 and was combined with the Südschleife at a length of 28.265 kilometres to hold the Eifelrennen events for bikes and cars.

2: Following on from the grands prix of the late 1920s, the 1931 German GP was held solely on the Nordschleife over a lap distance of 22.8 kilometres. It was won by Achille Varzi in a Bugatti T51.

3: The adjacent Nürburgring Grand Prix track was opened in 1984 and also combines with the Nordschleife to hold the annual Nürburgring 24 Hours.

4: Germany shares borders with nine other countries – Denmark, Poland, the Czech Republic, Austria, Switzerland, France, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands.

5: Germany is Europe’s second largest beer consumer – Germans drank 2.55 billion gallons of beer in 2012, the lowest level since the reunification in 1990, but that’s still more than anyone else in Europe apart from the Czechs. There are more than 1200 breweries producing over 5000 brands of beer.

Site officiel

Track information

Lap distance : 25km
Race distance : 2 x 3 laps

Lap records

Qualifying: To be established
Race: To be established