Race of Morocco

Race of Morocco
logo Race of Morocco

Race of Morocco - 17-19/04/2015

The Circuit Moulay El Hassan moves from the first to the second slot in this year’s WTCC calendar. Last season this 4.545-kilometre street circuit was notable for being the setting for nine-times world rally champion Sébastien Loeb’s first victory in the WTCC as part of the dominant works Citroën team. The track, also known as the Marrakech Street Circuit, is a temporary facility in the Agdal district of the city. It’s big on long straights and tight corners and with concrete walls lining the track there really is no margin for error.



1: The WTCC’s arrival in Morocco in 2009 marked the first international car race to be held in the country since the 1958 Grand Prix at Casablanca, famously won by Stirling Moss, who nevertheless lost out on the title to Mike Hawthorn.

2: That first WTCC race in Morocco was won by current LADA ace Rob Huff in a Chevrolet Cruze after he’d also topped qualifying. He was then third in race two behind Yvan Muller (SEAT) and Nicola Larini (Chevrolet).

3: The dominant Citroën team started as it meant to go on last year, with eventual champion José María López winning the first race of season prior to Loeb’s breakthrough victory.

4: The official languages of Morocco are Berber and Arabic. This distinctive group of Moroccan Arabic dialects is collectively called Darija. French and to a lesser extent Spanish and English are also spoken in the country.

5: The most popular sport in Morocco is still football, with the Moroccan national team becoming the first African and Arab country to make it to the second round of a World Cup in 1986.

Site officiel

Track information

Lap distance: 4.545km (2.8m)
Race distance: 2 x 14 laps

Lap records

Qualifying: Sébastien Loeb (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC), 1m43.706s (157.77kph), 12/04/2014
Race: José María López (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC), 1m43.704s (157.776kph), 13/04/2014


Pole: José María López (Citroën) – 1m43.730s
Race 1: 1. J. Lopez (Citroën) – 2. S. Loeb (Citroën) – 3. Y. Muller (Citroën)
Race 2: 1. S. Loeb (Citroën) – 2. J. Lopez (Citroën) – 3. H. Valente (Chevrolet)